Growing with God through Fellowship

Hello and welcome to my first series on this blog! As I wrote out ideas and topics to write about, I realized many of the things I wanted to share went hand in hand. These upcoming posts are on topics near and dear to my heart. As I thought about what to include in this series I realized I wanted to include the things that I personally have found to help me grow in my relationship with God.

When considering the first subject of this series I turned to the Church. As in, the aspect of attending and its benefits in your walk with Christ.

Church is defined as a place of worship or a gathering of believers. This means that a church does not have exist within a sanctuary, a church can begin in your home. The importance of going to church is found in the purpose of worshiping God through fellowship with other believers.

However, to understand why you should attend church you must look at an analysis of the word fellowship. The Greek words translated “fellowship” in the New Testament mean essentially a partnership to the mutual benefit of those involved. In our case, as the Church, the mutual benefit is a closer relationship with God. Fellowship is essentially people coming together with a common goal. How does this apply?

The importance of fellowship is highlighted many times in scripture. One example of this is found in Psalm 55:14 “We who had sweet fellowship together Walked in the house of God in the throng.” This Psalm is saying that those who fellowship with other believers will grow increasingly closer to God. As you meet with others that have the same goal as you, that goal will be easier to reach. This goes as basic as the concept of teamwork.

But why Church?

Although you can fellowship and gather with believers outside of a church building, there are certain aspects you can’t experience without belonging to a church. For example, I can’t even begin to list the many times I’ve went to church with a sour attitude and after experiencing the joy of God’s presence my perspective changed. God has a way of reminding us of his greatness. Many times in specific I’ve felt like my life is a horror then I head to church and hear a testimony of someone with a terminal illness that still praises God with every ounce of them.

Now I’m not saying it’ll be like a carnival every week, but I am saying that God rewards those who are diligent in following him.

Matthew 18:20

-Allie

One thought on “Growing with God through Fellowship

Leave a Reply

