Social Gratification

I see it all too often, girls and guys yearning for likes. Yearning for the fulfillment of knowing that somebody appreciates the picture/tweet/article we post. I am ultimately equally guilty of the same, but I am wondering why.

Why, if we have an ever-gracious Savior, do we continue to seek the approval of people we don’t even talk to outside of a follow on Instagram?

What if the reason we long for approval is because we do not fully grasp how great our God is and how much he truly loves us?

I’m a planner so when I face a situation that I can’t plan for, I get a little stressed. I tend to try and prove myself no matter what situation I’m in. So, as you may predict, I tend to find myself yearning for gratification. The issue is that there is no reason I should think this way. My Savior has given me all the love I should need.

Society has a way of bringing us down. As a part of the prime demographic for many worldly products, I know this first hand. From the magazine covers, hateful words, and even seemingly perfect Christians giving us a false picture of the standard we should have for ourselves. But in the midst of all of this, what should we strive for? In times of uncertainty, I tend to seek scripture as my primary source. After all, it is the word of God himself.

So what does the Bible say on image and what we should strive for?

1 Peter 3:3-4 says “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

We are not to focus on outward beauty, rather the beauty and grace in our souls. The more we focus on reviving our personalities, the more we please our creator God. We are also to renew our spirit through Christ. If we ask Jesus to cleanse us of our iniquities (Psalm 51:10), he is faithful to make us new through Him.

So, as you scroll through your feed, remember that our outward appearance is nothing compared to our eternal glory with Christ!

Proverbs 31 -Allie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

