Lead

Hey guys! I’m super excited because this year I have the privilege this year of being a Student Ambassador for Student Leadership University.

Now I know you’ve probably never heard of SLU so I want to dive into a quick explanation.

Student Leadership University is an organization centered around teaching a developing young leaders to become actively involved in the world around them. By doing this, they are helping give students like me a ten year leap into what they are capable of doing.

I strongly believe in the values SLU stands for and broadcasts and have enjoyed going to SLU my sophomore and freshman years.

I know what you may be thinking: “Okay this sounds interesting but what does it have to do with me?” Because of this, I wanted to dive into one of my SLU experiences.

This past summer I went on SLU 201 which took place in Washington D.C. I credit that trip as one of the greatest moments in my life. On this trip I had the privilege of hearing from Chaplains, members of the Senate, and business associates. In addition I visited many monuments that gave me a picture into what my country has endured for my freedom.

The most memorable part of this trip was by far my experience in the Holocaust museum. Seeing the gruesome details of the massacre and insight into the life of Hitler and Germany sparked something inside of me. I felt motivated to do something around me. I felt compelled to do more for the people who have less than me.

One of my favorite quotes rang through my head as I left that museum that day. “If we forget the past, we are condemned to repeat it.” -Winston Churchill

This has continued to be my motivation to help those around me. Whenever I see the conflicts in other countries or even poverty in my own neighborhood, I am encouraged to do something and strive to be a light in the darkness.

If you’d like to hear more about SLU, you can check out their website¬†here.

Proverbs 29:2 -Allie

Leave a Reply

