Send me.

I volunteered a couple weeks ago to teach in my Sunday school class. I wasn’t sure why, but I felt compelled to. It was a definite work of God because my hand was up before I even realized.

As soon as I saw the text I would teach from, I knew I would enjoy the lesson. I was to speak from Isaiah 6:1-8. I really love this text because it encapsulates what it looks like to give your life to God. it foreshadows the coming of Christ and future relationships with the Lord.

Nevertheless, I managed to have major writers block the weeks before I was to speak. I thought “maybe you should’ve left this lesson to someone else.” I tried my hardest to remind myself that God’s plan is above mine but I still felt unfit for the job. I made excuse after excuse until it came time that I needed to come up with a plan.

I read the lesson plan over and the text and multiple commentaries and still felt that there wasn’t a way to teach this without sounding entirely too cheesy.

It wasn’t until I searched ‘Isaiah 6 send me’ in the YouTube search bar and found a beautiful song reflecting on this passage that I felt a way to relate this back to 16 and 17 year olds. The song, by Lindy Conant was a very touching reminder of our true purpose as disciples of Christ. It definitely spurred me into a writing frenzy, I knew what I wanted to speak on.

I’m a high school junior, unfortunately this means I need to consider and decide on my future. This has overwhelmed me [secretly] for a little while. Not enough to show but just enough to stress me out more than usual.

I’ve sort of been reaching for some sort of clarity as to the ministry that God is leading me to (where God is sending me). I know there is a passion for music inside of me and I also know I have been gifted with language skills. They just make sense to me.

Up until a few days ago, I didn’t have any idea what this entailed for me. I just knew these things (and many others) to be true about me.

It wasn’t until a few days ago that I sat there [thinking about what to teach], that God gave me a glimpse into my future and the plans He has for me.

I was picturing what could be done with my passions with an Isaiah 6 mentality. It wasn’t about me, or my salary, or my status. It was focused on how I could be a light of the Gospel. I was surrendering ‘stability’ for the will of the Lord.

I felt myself called to something I had never even considered. Something that was not glamorous or substantially paying. I felt myself called to ministry excellence over monetary excellence.

I know not what the future holds for me, but I know God is holding my tomorrow. Rest in Him.

Have an Isaiah 6 attitude and He will give you the desires of your heart in ways you couldn’t dream (Isaiah 55:8-9).

Mark 16:15 -Allie

 

2 thoughts on “Send me.

Leave a Reply

