What’s that on your hand?

Lately I have been in the habit of writing on my hands. It’s what I do when I get bored. (I’m a high school student, it happens a lot) So, in order to make some sense of the scribbles on my hands, I’ve begun to use this bad habit as a bible study tool.

This may sound a bit far fetched but keep listening I promise it makes sense.

So a few weeks ago I was [mindlessly] scrolling through Instagram when I stumbled upon a post by Mary Kate Robertson (I.e. John Luke’s wife). The post was a simple, artsy picture of her hand with a few letters and numbers jotted on it in pen. At first glance it seemed to be nothing more than a nervous habit, upon further investigation and after reading her caption, I came to find out that the letters on her hand ( WYPTTWIWBWY I432 ) happened to represent Isaiah 43:2 “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you.”

She had written this post in the midst of the Louisiana hurricane and I felt so much peace in this. I sought the beautiful reminder of comfort that Mary Kate had written on her skin.

These few letters were a representing the words of God that were given as hope to the people of Israel. The same God that was in control of Israel is controlling us, isn’t that beautiful? A few simple letters jumbled together had left a beautiful reminder on her hand.

I instantly loved this idea. I have always stunk at memorizing scripture. With references and specific words, I was never able to effectively memorize scripture. I used this as an excuse for quite a while.

“Oh you’re not good at it.” “You always have your phone so why do you need bible verses memorized.” Truthfully, I knew these things were only insecurities and excuses.

So I took a stab at it, using this first one I had seen, I wrote down [the first letters of] Isaiah 43:2 on the back of my hand. I didn’t expect much, I simply thought it was a sweet idea from a person I adore.

I was shocked to see how often I will glance at my hand mindlessly in class. When the verse is right there, I want to make an effort to learn it.

The coolest part came a few weeks later when I was seated with another girl at my school. She made a comment along the lines of “what’s that on your hand?”

I was [silently] ecstatic. As a kid, I was never the Bible drill winner who could recite all of Psalm 119 from memory. I can’t even tell you all of the Roman road. So, to be asked about a Bible verse that I could actually recite back, I was more than giddy with excitement. The girl left the conversation intrigued and I was able to use an opportunity to share the love of God.

After this, I continued writing these little letters on my hand; but, I also began to write Hebrew words or Christian symbols. I also got questioned regarding this and was able to share more and more of my faith.

I say these things as an encouragement, don’t make excuses and use the opportunities God has given.

-Allie

Mary Kate’s Post on her Writing

Leave a Reply

